2018 Postdoc Scientific Symposium

The Postdoc Symposium is our annual opportunity to recognize and showcase the important contributions of postdocs to the scientific enterprise at Washington University. The Symposium includes a panel discussion, a keynote speaker, a poster session, and presentation of the outstanding faculty mentor award. Sponsored by the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research, and the WU Postdoc Society. 

Registration for the Symposium is now open!

2018 Keynote Speaker: Elizabeth L. Travis, Ph.D.

1.jpgDr. Travis is the Associate Vice President for Women & Minority Faculty Inclusion Programs and the Mattie Allen Fair Professor in Cancer Research at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. As an advocate for women in science, she served as President of Women Executives in Science and Healthcare (Formerly Society of Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine, SELAM) from 2012-2013 and received the Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Development Award (for an individual) from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) in 2009. In 2007 she was named a Fellow of the American Society for Therapeutic Radiation Oncology (FASTRO); fewer than 300 distinguished scientists nationwide have received this honor. She holds dual appointments as a Professor in the Department of Experimental Radiation Oncology and the Department of Pulmonary Medicine at MD Anderson. Dr. Travis received a Ph.D. in Experimental Pathology/Radiation Biology from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, South Carolina. She completed postdoctoral training at Mount Vernon Hospital Gray Laboratory, Northwood, Middlesex as well as the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University in Chicago, Illinois.

2018 Symposium Agenda

10:30 AM

Check-In Opens - Registration Closes March 7

​11:00 AM

​EPNEC Auditorium

​11:10 AM

Panel: Stories Behind the CV

  • Greg Bowman, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Washington University
  • Nikkilina Crouse, Ph.D., Senior Medical Science Liaison, Teva Neurosciences
  • Lydia-Ann Harris, Ph.D., Instructor in Medicine, John T. Milliken Department of Medicine, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Thi Nguyen, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Career and Professional Development, The Graduate School - Washington University

​12:30 PM

Postdoc Research Talks and Lunch

  • Kristen Funk, Ph.D. Faculty Mentor: Robyn Klein, M.D., Ph.D.
    Division of Infectious Disease, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Gyu Seong Heo, Ph.D.  Faculty Mentor: Yongjian Liu, Ph.D.
    Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, Washington University School of Medicine   
  • Anna Mattlage, Ph.D. Faculty Mentor: Catherine Lang, P.T., Ph.D.
    Program in Physical Therapy, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Sidney Williams, Ph.D. Faculty Mentor: Jose Moron-Concepcion, Ph.D.
    Washington University Pain Center         
  • Chao Wu, Ph.D. Faculty Mentor: Gaya Amarasinghe, Ph.D.
    Pathology and Immunology, Washington University School of Medicine

​2:15 PM

Keynote Address - My Life as a Scientist, Administrator, and Woman
Elizabeth Travis, Ph.D.

​3:15 PM

Presentation of Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award

​3:30 PM

Poster Session and Postdoc Resource Fair Reception
EPNEC Great Room

​5:00 PM

Symposium closes


2018 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award

Do you consider your mentor to be outstanding?  Does he or she go out of their way to ensure your success?  Then nominate him or her for the 14th Annual Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award!  The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award will be presented at the Postdoc Symposium on March 22nd.  You must be a current WU postdoc to nominate someone, and you may only nominate current WU faculty members.  Go to https://wustl.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_0iBGMC7ekd2gyWh​ to submit your nomination.

Follow us: