Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences

The Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences (DBBS) at Washington University in St. Louis offers exceptional doctoral training at one of the nation’s preeminent biomedical research centers. The DBBS is organized into thirteen academic programs, each representing a different scientific area.1448_dbbs_RJB_0050.jpg

Prospective students apply to the Division rather than to an individual program.  Students are admitted into a specific program but may change their Program affiliation as their interests develop. Faculty members from 30 plus departments across the university contribute to the admission, teaching and research training of the Division's students. Each Program has its own steering committee to provide students with personal attention, guiding them and addressing their needs during the first years of training. Steering committee members are conversant with the broad range of opportunities available to the student pursuing a graduate degree at Washington University, and they work for a precise match of interest, aptitude, Program and course of study.

Each of the 13 Programs establishes its own requirements for earning the Ph.D. degree, and progress toward the degree is monitored by the Program steering committee. The Ph.D. degree is granted by The Graduate School at Washington University.

Follow us: